Best Pocket alternatives in 2026
Pocket is a MagSafe AI voice recorder with a generous free plan. It is a good device. But if you want a wearable instead of a phone accessory, cheaper paid transcription, or a larger and longer-established ecosystem, there are strong alternatives. For most people, our pick is Plaud.
What is Pocket?
Pocket is a button-operated recorder that attaches to the back of a phone with MagSafe. Its product page lists three microphones (two studio, one contact), 64GB of storage, a four-day battery, and a free plan with unlimited transcription at standard accuracy. Pro costs $19.99 a month.
Pocket alternatives compared
| Device | Status | How you capture | Audio kept? | Price and plan | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plaud NotePin S (top pick) | On sale | Button press on a pin, clip, lanyard or wristband | Yes, original recording kept; optional encrypted cloud sync | $179. Free Starter plan with 300 min/month; Pro from $8.33/month billed yearly | Wearable capture of meetings and conversations you choose to record |
| Plaud Note Pro (top pick for calls) | On sale | Button press on a card that attaches to your phone | Yes | $189. Same plans as above | Phone calls and larger rooms (four microphones) |
| On sale | Side button; attaches with MagSafe | Yes, on the 64GB device and in the cloud | $129–$139 listed depending on promotion. Free plan; Pro $19.99/month | People who want unlimited standard transcription for free | |
| Omi | On sale | Pendant on a cord, clip or wristband | Not stated on the product page | $129 listed (normally $179). Free plan, no subscription required | Tinkerers who want open-source software |
| Bee | On sale in the US, iOS only | Wristband or clip; press to start and stop | Not stated on the product page | $49.99 | The cheapest way to try wearable capture |
| Limitless Pendant | Not sold since Dec 5, 2025 | Pendant (legacy) | n/a | Was $99 | Existing owners only |
Plaud Note Pro and NotePin S: the best Pocket alternative
Plaud is the most widely used option in the category: the company says it has shipped more than two million devices, and its software business passed $100M in annual recurring revenue in 2026, according to TechCrunch. That scale shows up in a mature app, frequent updates, and a wide choice of hardware.

Plaud Note ProFor back-to-back conversationsShop now
Plaud NotePin SFor hands-free capture on the goShop now
Plaud NoteFor hybrid work, calls and meetingsShop now- Wear it or stick it. The NotePin S can be worn as a pin, clip, lanyard or wristband. The Note Pro is a card that rides on the back of your phone, like Pocket, with four microphones for calls and bigger rooms.
- Cheaper paid plan. Plaud Pro is $8.33 a month billed yearly (1,200 minutes a month). Pocket Pro is listed at $19.99 a month.
- Your audio stays yours. The original recording is kept, with optional encrypted cloud sync.
- Free tier included. Every device comes with the Starter plan: 300 transcription minutes a month at no cost.
Get Plaud Note Pro →Get Plaud NotePin →
Watch Plaud in action
Plaud Note Pro: official overview
Plaud NotePin S: official introduction
Omi: open-source Pocket alternative
A pendant with open-source software you can inspect and run locally. Listed at $129 with no subscription required. A good fit if you like to tinker; less so if you want a polished, finished product.
Bee: cheapest Pocket alternative
Amazon bought Bee in 2025. At $49.99 it is the cheapest entry point, but it is sold only in the US and works only with iOS.
Limitless Pendant: discontinued
The Limitless Pendant has not been sold since December 5, 2025. It is not an option for new buyers.
Pocket vs Plaud: which should you choose?
Choose Plaud if
- You want a recorder you can wear, not only one stuck to your phone.
- You plan to pay for advanced transcription and summaries: Plaud Pro costs less per year.
- You record phone calls or larger meetings (Note Pro, four mics).
- You want the most established app and company in the category.
Get Plaud Note Pro →Get Plaud NotePin →
Stay with Pocket if
- You will never pay for a plan and record more than 300 minutes a month.
- You want the lowest upfront price for a phone-mounted recorder.
Pocket alternatives FAQ
What is the best Pocket alternative?
For most people, the Plaud NotePin S (wearable) or Plaud Note Pro (phone-mounted, four mics).
Is there a Pocket alternative without a subscription?
Yes. Plaud includes a free Starter plan (300 minutes a month), and Omi lists a free plan with no subscription required.
Which is cheaper over a year?
On paid plans, Plaud: about $90–$100 less in the first year than Pocket with Pro.